top of page
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Featured Posts

DIY Led light display in a Candle Lantern


What started all of this was wanting to be able to display my creche aka manger scene figures better, they're quite small and just got lost in the rest of the Christmas decor. I also loved these faux sugared pears I bought years ago and wanted to display them better.

I photographed the 'ceiling' with next step being light installation done.

Many lanterns have a 'roof'. If you try this project with another style I would recommend a square lantern and you may have to tin snip a hole in the back to get your lights through!

The ceiling. I used a mesh ribbon with wire edge. The strips were measured and hot glued together until I had my square measurement. I then hot glued my mesh square to the inside ledge.

Next carefully think of your battery pack installation. Mine is hot glued in place so that I can change the battery's on the top, yet access the on off switch on the underside where my fingers are.

The lights were 'slid' through the back over-hang of the lantern top. The is where you may have to snip a hole with another lantern design.

Finishing touches

Creche/Manger Scene

-I removed the candle pin easily with pliers.

-this display also has a burlap square floor glued in place and small gold sprayed cigar box to help elevate the figures.

-Added sparkly ornaments on top and one inside in the back to further create a backdrop for the figures.

Candied Pears

-I removed the candle pin easily with pliers.

-this display also has a burlap square floor glued in place

-The pears were glued to create a 'pile' with the sparkly poinsetta blossom on the front.

-a few extra small pears were induvidually placed after the 'pile' of pears were placed.

-Added sparkly ornaments on top


Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page