top of page
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Featured Posts

Dream Wall Art-Upcycle


What I was wanted was a unique focal point for over a bed ; so...it had to be big. The above 2nd hand print is ready for a new look and just happened to be the right size... and I kinda liked the frame! I can work with this!

Prep

After taking the print out I cut a piece of your run of the mill "hardware painters dropcloth" slightly larger than the print.

Images

Next I printed out my Letters. The letters were found on the internet by searching each letter and choosing via 'image' the style I liked for each. Those letters were then copied to my 'publishing' type of a programme, enlarged to the size I wanted, saved induvidually and printed.

Layout

Then I laid the sheets onto my drop cloth piece and with a pencil made light 'dots' in each page corner to create a registration placement for the next step.

You can keep referring back to this photo for the next couple of steps!

Transfer Paper

You can see the brown sheet above with the backward 'D'. This is freezer paper spray glued onto a sheet of printer paper *GLOSSY SIDE OUT. You will have to invest in a can of spray glue as this is the only way to get a overall adhesion for the sheet which is going to serve as your tool to transfer your image to your cloth.

Printing to Transfer Paper Sheet

Load your glued transfer paper to your printer tray (usually right side up)

Next bring your image up in whatever publishing programme you use. When you choose your options choose photo quality glossy. This seems to dump a good amount of ink to pull off the transfer.

Reversing Images to Print

In the Media and Quality drop down choose "Layout"

Once Layout presents itself you can reverse the image horizontally.

Before you print be sure your cloth is close and ready and you know where you will be placing your image.

Transfer to Cloth

Hit print, then quickly lay your image down and press, I just use my hands however I have found instructions that use a credit card or roller.

Your transfer paper can now be wiped clean and you can carry on with additional images if your artwork requires!

Mercury Glass Finish.

( Sorry My images were too dark so we'll go over this with images from Weddingbee.com and Hgtv.com of candle votives) I have worked with shaped items and working on glass for a frame is just as easy.

You will need

Mirror Spray Paint

Spray bottle with half of each Vinegar and Water

several sheets of paper towel

For picture frame glass lightly spray the whole glass with water and vinegar.

Next step is important for framed work read carefully!

Look at your image and think of how you want the mercury effect to show through. Also for framed work I spray the inside of the glass, so I place the glass on my art and take a good look.

For the 'Dream' art I sprayed the whole sheet of glass lightly with the mirror paint.

wait 5 mins then blot the 'water'

spray again with water and vinegar mix

then spray again with mirror paint around the outer edge to start created an edge fade mirror effect.

I believe it took me 3 coats graduating to the outside, repeating the spray and blot process each time.

Mercury Glass Method

The images below show the mercury glass process on a small jar which may be a good project to learn on!

lightly spray with Vinegar/Water 50/50 mix

then spray with mirror spray lightly, I blot with paper towel 3-5 minutes after. This step removed the water/paint surface. You can repeat this step as many times you like. I have also started with the surface sprayed a solid colour then use this method over top.

Back to our Project!

Next trim your piece of art to the exact size for in the frame. This can be done easiest by setting the glass on the art so you can position it exactly the way you like it. Trace and trim. Then iron the wrong side with a hot iron. This isn't only to flatten the canvas but helps to set the ink.

Reassemble your frame with the fully dried glass, insert your artwork, seal the back of the frame and add change of hanging hardware if needed.

The mercury glass technique can be used on figurines, jars, smaller framed items, to create shabby chic mirrors, candle votives and much more

The inkjet transfer technique can also be used for almost any soft covering decor or even wardrobe item!

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page