top of page
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Featured Posts

Christmas Mirror and Burlap Bow diy


Six steps to a Fab and Pretty Christmas Mirror with Burlap Bow Focal point!

Starting with this mirror, which I bought via a community auction. It was advertised as a vintage mirror, silly me I thought it was wood, having seen those back in the day. Turned out it is plastic-buyer beware! Anyway let's make lemonade of this lemon, starting with a good cleaning then the following steps.

1-I love this rustoleum metaliques paint and have used it for a few projects. It goes on so nice and smooth.

1 continued-next with a t-shirt rag I rubbed on black get stain which I had left over from my kitchen suite project. The nice surprise is that the mirror frame started to look like aged metal and not plastic at all.

2&3-Bow Loops-Next I cut from coffee bean sacks a strip 12x30 and another 7x24 inches.

straight stitch the long side edges then fold the ends toward the centre and sew. Once both are done sew the smaller piece on top of the larger.

4-Centre loop-cut a piece about 4x12, you can trim each side of this piece with other fabric. I used red velvet, a plaid or satin ribbon would also be pretty awesome! If you choose to not trim the sides straight stitch each side.

4 continued-place your bow loops in your centre loop before sewing the ends of the centre loop together. Look at the main photo and fluff, and manipulate all of the pieces to look like the bow part in the photo.

5-tie ends. cut 2 pieces of burlap about 4x25. Optional-cut 2 pieces of compliment fabric about 3x21. I then cut one side both burlap and compliment from the top about 2.5 inches shorter. Straight stitch the sides and stitch the tops of burlap and compliment together. Once done 'peak' your fabric ends.

then on the back side of your bow glue place and glue your ends.

6-attaching with jute string. First loop your jute piece through the top of the centre bow and tie onto the back of the mirror. I have attached a hanging wire onto the back of my mirror, that's what I tied onto. That upper piece of jute string is not neccessary. I added it to my hanging wire as to place my mirror properly in the space using the existing nail.


Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page