top of page
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Featured Posts

Mason Jar Christmas luminaries

When I saw these two little vintage choir singer ornaments I scooped them up not know quite what I was going to do with them but oh they sure are Christmas-y! I came across a mason jar/snowy tree idea then took it a step further to create a luminary.

I chose this style of mason jar because it's clear on 3 sides!

Because my little figures are quite small I used a candle votive holder high enough to 'house' my light and elevate the ornament.

Here's the step by step!

1-Cut a circle out of poster paper to set in the bottom jar 'ring'-this will be upside down. Also cut an inner circle for your 'light' to fit through. Glue your votive containter to your poster paper ring.

2-Glue enough jar 'rings' together to create the correct presentation and height for your ornament. I used 3 and after fiddling with glue gun glue switched to 'goop' glue, shoe glue should also work.

3-care and attention here....Glue your ornament to the top of the votive holder. Test the placement of your jar by screwing together to be sure the jar design doesn't land at the very front of your inside ornament. If it does, just unscrew and adjust your ornament placement.

now your luminary is done or you can add a bit of embellishing.

My finishing touches

-I lightly sprayed the inside 'top' (which is really the jar bottom) inside and out with snow spray

-I wrapped silver mesh ribbon around the stacked necks to add some sparkle

Options

Other idea's for your inside display could include, small tree ornaments, filling your jar with colourful small scale tree balls, the possibilitie's are endless!

this is the style of led tea light for this project.

Your luminaries can be set on candle holders to create more display interest. Also a nice alternative to candles! (but I do love candles!)

They even look quite pretty when not turned on!


Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page