top of page
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Featured Posts

Baby Change Table to a Serving Cart diy!

An upcycle and repurpose to a baby change table. With the serving cart/bar cart trend I wanted to find something that would provide a good base for a unique piece. Change tables in original form are quite big, no matter what I cosmetically do, it may always look like a change table so some tweaks were needed! I liked how this particular change table offered extra closure around the whole top for taller items to be moved around.

This turned out to be quite a journey so perhaps sharing will save the next person a bit of time!

The change table was completely taken apart. First I painted all pieces with a liquid 'de-buffer/sandpaper' then prepainted some area's which turned out to be unneccessary. I started with the idea of siver... then changed my mind...lol.

Everything was measured and cut with a chop saw and jig saw for the shelf decks (run a strip of painters tape to follow the line, that helps to guid your eye and with chipping). I bought new chip board for the shelf decks because I messed up the originals and the top one had been notched out for the baby belt.

Then I drilled the new holes in the end of the rails needed for reassembly. The holes turned out to be too far off so I had to cut 'everything' shorter and start that process over.

TIP! This time I fit the rails and shelves, then lined up the end and drilled through the existing holes. Much better fit.

Once assembled I painted the change table out with 2 coats of Annie Sloan Paris Grey Chalk Paint (Interiors to Inspire in Calgary) did some light distressing and sealed it with 2 coats of clear satin.

Knobs...the 2 top cart guiding knobs replaced change table screws, 2 lower knobs were measured for and pre drilled for extra decoration.

Shelf decks...when on vacation my dad tipped me off on free coffee sacks at Invermere BC's Kicking Horse coffee roasterie. They were cut to size, ironed and starched then adhesed with spray glue. I felt the vintage feel mismatched knobs and burlap mixed well with the distressed look.

Load her up!

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page